The Redneck Manifesto – New Album and Live Dates Announced

Ireland’s most revered independent band The Redneck Manifesto return with their first album in six years this March with the release of the much anticipated album Friendship on Dublin based Independent label Richter Collective, home to the likes of Adebisi Shank, BATS, Not Squares, Jogging and many more. Listen to or download opening track ‘Black Apple’ below.

TRM have already released three modern Irish classic records in the shape of Thirty Six Strings (2001), Cut Your Heart Off From Your Head (2002) and I Am Brazil (2004). 2010 sees the band ready to unleash their fourth full-length Friendship – a 10-track album that the band themselves compare to “a psychedelic kraut-rock band jamming with The Meters”.

It might be four years since their last recorded output, the Seven Stabs EP but the quintet of Mervyn Craig, Matthew Bolger, Niall Byrne, Richard Egan and Neil O’Connor have been busy on their own solo projects in the interim. Richard Egan is now well-known for his electro-influenced transcendent pop side-project Jape, having previously released three albums culminating in 2008’s Choice Music Prize winning album Ritual. Matt Bolger is part of the design duo M&E who are gaining plaudits across the design community and makes synth-laden music under the name The Son Green.  Neil O’ Connor is also known as experimental ambient composer Somadrone while Niall performs as VisionAir and Mervyn creates his own music under the name Cochon and On.

June 2009 saw the band members re-convened from their homes across the world in Ireland, San Francisco and Sweden to Black Box Studios in France to record with Dave Odlum, the same studio where they had recorded I Am Brazil six years earlier.

The band combined the analogue and digital equipment in the Black Box studio on the new record, pushing themselves in new creative ways. “The sound of the record comes a lot from the result of processing modern instruments, like an andromeda synth, through old vintage effects boxes, filters and speakers, like a Leslie cabinet,“ explains Matt. Both Mervyn and Neil agree that Friendship is more sonically adventurous than previous recordings. “It still sounds like TRM but we’ve never sounded as good on record before,” adds Matt.

Friendship will be released on March 26th on CD Digipak, Gatefold vinyl and MP3 download on The Richter Collective label with an M&E designed sleeve specially designed for the gatefold vinyl edition and of course, “to blow peoples minds”.

Live dates, links and the album track-listing after the jump…

Live Dates –

Fri 19 March – Roisin Dubh, Galway

Sat 20 March – Cyprus Avenue, Cork

Sun 21 March – Dolans (Upstairs – afternoon show, 4pm), Limerick

Fri 26 March – The Stables, Mullingar

Sat 27 March – Tower Records (3pm), Dublin

Sat 27 March – Tripod, Dublin

The band will be joined by the Great Lakes Mystery for the Galway, Cork, Limerick and Mullingar dates.

Friendship tracklisting

01. Black Apple

02. Smile More

03. Drum Drum

04. Little Nose

05.Tomb of the Dudes

06. Hex

07. Rubber Up

08. Weird Waters

09. Click

10. Cloud Beard

The Richter Collective –

The Redneck Manifesto –


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: