Sleeping States to release In The Gardens Of The North on Bella Union August 2009


This August sees the release of “In The Gardens of the North”, the Bella Union debut of Sleeping States, a work of startling beauty and originality and one of the most beguiling releases of 2009.

Sleeping states is the musical project of Bristol-based Markland Starkie, a uniquely talented artist who has been quietly evolving for the past few years. An upbringing learning various musical instruments & classical theories fused with a DIY, experimental-noise ethos is at the heart of Sleeping States. Within this experimentation and exploration there always remains a regard for melody and arrangement, while binding the whole together is Markland’s exquisite voice.

Check out Sleeping States myspace page here.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: